The New Council Members of the Africa Region in the LWF

Rev. Dr Yonas Yigezu Dibisa, LWF Vice President for Africa - Photo LWF Assembly

The new leaders were elected at the concluded LWF Assembly to represent the Africa Region

At the 13th Assembly of the Lutheran World Federation (LWF) held in Krakow Poland from 12th to 19th September 2023, Rev. Dr Yonas Yigezu Dibisa of the Ethiopian Evangelical Church Mekane Yesus was elected the regional Vice President for the Africa region. Rev Dr Dibisa took over from Rev Dr Jeannette Ada Maina who has been returned to council of the LWF now serving as the chair on the Committee for Communion Relations.

Other members of the LWF Council in Africa include Ms Toromare Mananato from Malagasy Lutheran Church, Presiding Bishop Fredrick Shoo of Evangelical Lutheran Church in Tanzania
and the youth representative Ms Phiona Uwase a delegate from Lutheran Church of Rwanda. They are Council Members from the Lutheran Communion in Central and East Africa (LUCCEA)

From the Lutheran Communion in Southern Africa (LUCSA) are: Ms Susan Matroos, Evangelical Lutheran Church in South Africa, Mr Petrus Johannes Hanekom of Northeastern Evangelical Lutheran Church in South Africa and Bishop Tomás Ndawanapo of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of Angola.

While Rev. Dr. Jeanette Ada Epse Maina from Evangelical Lutheran Church in Cameroon, Engr. Nuhu Ishaya, The Lutheran Church of Christ in Nigeria and youth representative from the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Sierra Leone Mr Moses Sanganwo Momoh are the delegates from Lutheran Communion in Central and Western Africa (LUCCWA)

These council members will serve the communion in Africa and the LWF for the next 6 years on the various councils.